Sheriff's of Los Angeles County
George T. Burrill
James R. Barton
David W. Alexander
C. E. Hale
James R. Barton
Elijah Bettis
William C. Getman
James Thompson
Tomas A. Sanchez
James F. Burns
William R. Rowland
David W. Alexander
H. M. Mitchell
William R. Rowland
Alvan T. Currier
George E. Gard
James C. Kays
Martin G. Aguirre
Edward. D. Gibson
John C. Cline
John Burr
William A. Hammel
Will A. White
William A. Hammel
John C. Cline
William I. Traeger
Eugene W. Biscailuz
Peter J. Pitchess
Sherman Block
Lee Baca
John Scott
Jim McDonnell
1850 - 1851
1852 - 1855
1857 - 1858
1858 - 1859
1850 - 1867
1868 - 1871
1872 - 1875
1875 - 1877
1878 - 1879
1880 - 1882
1883 - 1884
1884 - 1886
1887 - 1888
1889 - 1890
1890 - 1892
1893 - 1894
1895 - 1898
1899 - 1902
1903 - 1906
1907 - 1914
1915 - 1921
1921 - 1932
1932 - 1958
1959 - 1982
1982 - 1998
1998 -resigned Jan 2014
Appointed Jan. 2014
2014 -
Sheriff George Burrill was elected  the first Sheriff of Los Angeles County in 1850. He was born        
in 1810 in Rhode Island and arrived in California by way of Mexico.

In 1857, Sheriff James Barton became the first law enforcement officer to die in the performance of
his duties in Los Angeles County when trying to capture a gang of bandits.

In 1858, Sheriff William Getman had served only seven days in office when he was killed in the
performance of his duties.

Sheriff Tomas Sanchez (1860-1867) was the first native son to be elected Sheriff. He was born in Los
Angeles when it was still Mexico.

Sheriff William Rowland (1872-1875; 1880-1882), was the youngest man to serve as Los Angeles
County Sheriff at the age of 25. He was responsible for the capture of the bandit Tiburcio Vasquez.
He was also able to purchase badges for his deputies, , The cost, however, could not exceed one dollar
each according to the Board of Supervisors.

Sheriff George Gard (1885-1886) also served as Chief of the Los Angeles Police Department.

Sheriff John Cline (1893-1894; 1915-1921) was born in Australia

Sheriff William A. Hammel (1899-1902; 1907-1914) also served as Chief of the LAPD.

Under Sheriff Eugene Biscailuz, the LASD became the largest Sheriff’s Department in the world. As
Sheriff he held the record for longest consecutive service in the department, having become a
deputy in 1907 and serving 51 years until his retirement in 1958.

In 1998, Sheriff Sherman Block died just days before voters were to decide upon his bid to be re-
elected to a fourth term as Sheriff of Los Angeles County. Block's supporters were not dismayed
and continued to campaign for the late Sheriff’s re-election. They hoped to deny a victory to Block’s
opponent, Lee Baca. An election victory for a deceased candidate would place the appointment of a
new Sheriff in the hands of the County Board of Supervisors. County Supervisors were not
supportive of Baca's candidacy. Baca was considered an outsider to the county political
establishment. Baca won the election, however, with more than 60 percent of the vote.

1998 - On December 7 Leroy D. Baca was sworn in as Los Angeles County’s 30th Sheriff. Sheriff
Baca commands the largest Sheriff’s Department in the world and supervises more than 13,000
sworn personnel and professional staff.
Sheriff Baca resigned in January 2014 and John L. Scott was appointed temporary Sheriff.

2014 - On January 30 John L. Scott was sworn in as Los Angeles County's 31st Sheriff.